2017 Hugh Portrait

About IEHU

The University of Melbourne’s Indigenous Eye Health Unit (IEHU) was established in 2008 at the Melbourne School of Population and Global Health to undertake world-leading research that has established an evidence base and policy framework to address Indigenous eye health in Australia.

The director of IEHU is Melbourne Laureate Professor Hugh R Taylor AC, an internationally renowned ophthalmologist, and inaugural Harold Mitchell Chair of Indigenous Eye Health.

About IEHU

Our Team

Professor Taylor leads a team of knowledge translation scholars, health promotion and research officers and administrative staff.

group photo of all IEH staff taken on zoom
2017 governance


Our Advisory Board oversees the work of IEHU and provides overarching advice, direction on work, guidance on funding, and advice as to how data collected can be used to implement policy change

Our Advisory BoardOur RAP (coming soon)

Supporters and Donors

The work of  the IEHU is generously supported by a number of private donors, philanthropic trusts, and the Australian Government Department of Health.

IEH Donors Image