Allergy and Lung Health

  • Unit Head Professor Shyamali Dharmage

    View researcher's webpage

    +613 8344 0737

  • Research Overview

    The Allergy and Lung Health Unit is internationally recognised for conducting research into the genetic, molecular and environmental epidemiology of allergies, asthma and Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD). These interrelated diseases are major public health issues, with asthma being a National Health Priority in Australia. Our focus is to identify the causes of these conditions and how best to prevent them.

    Core to our research program are two large longitudinal studies spanning the life course, the Tasmanian Longitudinal Health Study (TAHS) and the Melbourne Atopy Cohort Study   (MACS). Both studies are funded by National Health & Medical Research Council. The Unit currently includes six research fellows, a large number of higher degree research students, and excellent research support staff. We collaborate in multiple projects in the field, including local studies such as HealthNuts based at the Murdoch Childrens Research Institute and international studies such as the European Community Respiratory Health Survey, the largest international study of adult asthma.

    We collaborate with several world renowned research institutes nationally and internationally, including the Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, the University of Tasmania, Monash University, Imperial College (UK), German Research Centre for Environmental Health, the University of Bergen in Norway and Boston University (USA).

    We have a strong publication track record including articles in Lancet, BMJ and Nature Genetics. Our findings have informed both policy and practice such as infant feeding guidelines, diagnostic algorhythms and air quality guidelines.


    Professor Shyamali Dharmage (Unit Head)

    Gayan Bowatte

    Dr John Burgess

    Brittany Campbell

    Alice Doherty

    Professor Joachim Heinrich

    Sonia Kaushik

    Dr Jennifer Koplin (Murdoch Childrens Research Institute)

    Caroline Lodge

    Dr Adrian Lowe

    Dr Melanie Matheson (Telstra Health)

    Tom McCrabb

    Samidi Navarathna

    Shaie O'Brien

    Dr Jennifer Perrett

    Dr Melissa Russell

    Professor Haydn Walters

    Sophie Yorkston