HEAG Meetings & Deadlines

Meeting dates and deadlines for application submission

Please note: Ethics at UOM is changing - the Human Ethics Workbench in Themis will be disabled on 5th October and replaced by Infonetica Ethics Review Management (ERM) system on 6th October 2020. Please enrol in the ERM training (see Staff news/The Brew) and use ERM from the 6th October.

From November 2020 a new ethics process will be in place. Low to negligible risk (LNR) committees will replace HEAGs, and Greater than low risk (GTLR) committees will replace HRECs (HESC). Each academic division will have Research Ethics Advisors (REAs) who will conduct a pre-review of applications submitted in Infonetica ERM. Applications will then only be sent to one committee for review/approval.

Process until 5th October 2020: Ethics applications completed by researchers and students in the Melbourne School of Population and Global Health (MSPGH) must be submitted to MSPGH Human Ethics Advisory Group (HEAG). Researchers must submit their applications through Themis and upload all attached documents in PDF format. Project applications and program applications reviewed by MSPGH HEAG will be recommended for approval and will then be reviewed by the Health Sciences Human Ethics Sub-Committee (HESC) for final approval. Minimal risk ethics applications and project within program ethics applications will be reviewed and approved by the MSPGH HEAG.

2020 MSPGH HEAG meeting dates and deadlines

Meeting number

HEAG meeting date

HEAG submission deadline

Meeting 1

Friday 17 January

Friday 10 January

Meeting 2

Friday 31 January

Friday 24 January

Meeting 3

Friday 14 February

Friday 7 February

Meeting 4

Friday 28 February

Friday 21 February

Meeting 5

Friday 13 March

Friday 6 March

Meeting 6

Friday 27 March

Friday 20 March

Meeting 7

Friday 17 April

Friday 10 April

Meeting 8

Friday 1 May

Friday 24 April

Meeting 9

Friday 15 May

Friday 8 May

Meeting 10

Friday 29 May

Friday 22 May

Meeting 11

Friday 12 June

Friday 5 June

Meeting 12

Friday 26 June

Friday 19 June

Meeting 13

Friday 10 July

Friday 3 July

Meeting 14

Friday 24 July

Friday 17 July

Meeting 15

Friday 7 August

Friday 31 July

Meeting 16

Friday 21 August

Friday 14 August

Meeting 17

Friday 4 September

Friday 28 August

Meeting 18

Friday 18 September

Friday 11 September

Meeting 19

Friday 2 October

Friday 25 September

Meeting 20*date is tentative pending new shared service model.

Friday 13 November

Friday 6 November


2020 M&D HESC meeting dates and deadlines


2020 Medicine & Dentistry Human Ethics Sub Committee meeting dates and deadlines

Contact details

Senior Ethics Advisor
Gemma Catley
Location
Melbourne School of Population and Global Health
Email
gemma.catley@unimelb.edu.au