COVID-19 and Detention Webinar 1: Global overview

More Information

Clare Chiminello

JHU-Webinar@unimelb.edu.au

This COVID-19 and Detention: Global overview webinar is the first in a series of six free webinars, convened by the Justice Health Unit of the University of Melbourne, on Building a sustainable, comprehensive response to COVID-19 in relation to detention.  

Date/Time: Wednesday 8 July, 2020    7pm-8.30pm AEST (Melbourne)

Other time zones: 5am EDT (New York);  6am BRT (Sãu Paulo);  10am WEST (Lisbon); 11am CEST (Geneva);  12pm MSK (Moscow) & EAT (Nairobi);  5pm PHT (Manila)

Cost: Free

Facilitated by: Prof Stuart Kinner, Head of the Justice Health Unit, University of Melbourne; Head of the Justice Health Group, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute

Panellists:

  • Dr Carina Ferreira-Borges, (WHO), Programme Manager Alcohol, Illicit Drugs and Prison Health at the World Health Organisation (WHO) Regional Office for Europe, providing technical support on policy development, monitoring and surveillance systems, research and capacity building to inform public health policy in 53 countries.
  • Dr Elena Leclerc, (ICRC), Health Care in Detention Programme Coordinator, International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) has worked for the ICRC for over 22 years in various contexts and countries. Now based in Geneva, her work has included development of guidelines on prison health, and postgraduate education in health care in detention.
  • Terry Norris Hackett, (ICRC), Regional Prison System Advisor, ICRC, has worked in senior and advisory corrections roles in Canada, Africa and Asia. He is now is based in Manila supporting ICRC delegations and detaining authorities in the Philippines and Malaysia to address systemic humanitarian concerns in places of detention.
  • Prof Carlos Magno Neves, Collective Health Department, University of Rio Verde-UniRV, and researcher at the Observatory of Social Security and Justice Systems-OSJ/UFSC, Brazil. He works and advocates for the rights of incarcerated people, adolescents, and vulnerable groups.

Each panellist will present on their experience of COVID-19 in relation to detention from the perspective of their region/organisation on the key issues and challenges. This will be followed by a facilitated discussion enabling questions from participants via the Q & A function.

The overall focus will be on:

  • Understanding the policy/operational responses so far
  • Identifying what has been missing from the responses
  • Developing recommendations on what is needed to achieve comprehensive, sustainable, cross-governmental responses

Following the webinar a recording will be available, with the link emailed to registrants.  Future monthly webinars will be on the following themes:

  • COVID-19 and decarceration
  • Rights, accountability, information and standards in a COVID-19 world
  • Immigration detention and COVID-19
  • Australasian issues
  • International responses – next steps for policy, advocacy, funding and research