Centre for Mental Health: Background

Centre for Mental Health was established on 18 September 2013 as part of the restructure of the Melbourne School of Population and Global Health. The School had for some time had an emphasis on improving mental health at a population level. The Centre brought together three of the School’s existing organisational units with considerable strength in this area, namely the Mental Health Workstream of the Centre for Health Policy, Programs and Economics (headed by Professor Jane Pirkis), the Population Mental Health Group (headed by Professor Anthony Jorm), and the Centre for International Mental Health (headed by A/Professor Harry Minas).

The Centre for Mental Health now sits alongside four other major organisational units within the Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, namely the Centre for Health Policy; the Centre for Health Equity; the Centre for Epidemiology and Biostatistics; and the Nossal Institute for Global Health.

Professor Jane Pirkis was appointed as the inaugural Director of CMH in 2013, and continues to lead it today.